Shenandoah Watercolors
My new nonfiction release is out!
Written in a month by month journal style, Shenandoah Watercolors follows a year in my life on our farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. This collection of word paintings begins in May 2003 and concludes at the end of May 2004––a highly significant year for our family as it turned out.
Uncertain what route to pursue regarding its publication, I set it aside and continued to work on my fictional historicals for The Wild Rose Press. However, my mother showed Shenandoah Watercolors to a local historian who insisted it beautifully captured a vanishing way of life and must be published, an insistence that nagged at the back of my mind. With the evolution of the eBook world I decided to self-publish and share Shenandoah Watercolors with my fans.
My mother, Pat Churchman, did the spectacular cover and was of immeasurable help in editing this book, reading it over and over.  We originally intended to include some of her wonderful photographs of the valley and mountains, but the enormous undertaking involved was too daunting.  As it was, I had to hire an editor to format the manuscript for epub, not as easy as you might think.  So I invite you to explore my home blog where many of mom’s photographs are featured in various posts on gardening and rural life at http://bethtrissel.wordpress.com
Description of Shenandoah Watercolors:
Author/farm wife Beth Trissel shares the joys and challenges of rural life on her family’s small farm located in the scenic Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Journey with her through the seasons on the farm, owned by her family since the 1930′s, and savor the richness of her cherished gardens and beloved valley. This journal is a poignant, often humorous, sometimes sad glimpse into a vanishing way of life for anyone who loves or yearns for the country and even those who don’t.~
Shenandoah Watercolors is available as an ebook at Amazon Kindle and at Barnes & Noble as a Nookbook. (However Barnes&Noble hasn’t gotten my cover up yet and I have no idea why.  Amazon was prompt.)
*Also, for those of you who didn’t realize, you can download Free software at Amazon for reading Kindle books on your computer called Kindle for PC.

9 comments

  1. Mona Risk // April 30, 2011 at 9:29 AM  

    Congratulations, Beth, on the new release. Gorgeous pictures that are so much the Virginia I know. Your description of the book reveals your love for your land.

  2. Beth Trissel // April 30, 2011 at 9:46 AM  

    Thanks Mona. The valley is especially beautiful now.

  3. Judy // April 30, 2011 at 12:41 PM  

    Congratulations, Beth! It's such a lovely book and I think it's going to be very successful. As always the photographs are stunning and the history is fascinating. Good luck with it!

  4. Nightingale // April 30, 2011 at 2:54 PM  

    Beth, this sounds like a super book. Congrats and many sales!

  5. Mary Marvella // April 30, 2011 at 3:28 PM  

    Beth, you are great at painting word pictures! I know folks will love this book.

  6. Beth Trissel // April 30, 2011 at 4:15 PM  

    Thanks so much guys. Very kind and much appreciated.

  7. Scarlet Pumpernickel // May 1, 2011 at 5:19 PM  

    Beth, I have a Sony e-reader, but learned about Kindle-PC a while back, so I'm all set. I will bop over there to get my copy right away. As always, your pictures of your beloved valley are beautiful. I expect you will paint just as lovely a picture with your words about it. Congratulations on making the book available for us.

  8. Tamara LeBlanc // May 2, 2011 at 12:41 PM  

    WOW Beth!! What a wonderful book.
    And the pics are so lovely!
    Congratulations on your efforts to get your family farm story out to the readers, and I wish you the best of luck on many, many sales!!!
    Have A GREAT day!
    Tamara

  9. Josie // May 2, 2011 at 5:56 PM  

    Beth,
    Your cover is absolutely gorgeous! Sincere congrats on your new release and best wishes for your continuing success.